Their son Thomas was succeeded by a son Mark Stuart Pleydell, who was holding in 1728 and was
created a baronet in 1732. He died in 1768, having survived his only child Harriet, the wife of
Jacob Vicount Folkestone inherited through a codicile in St Marks Will. The family name
then became PLEYDELL-BOUVERIE.
In 1889 when the Hon. Duncombe Pleydell-Bouverie, second son of the fourth earl took up
residence. Upon his death in 1909 his only son Jacob inherited. He died from wounds in France
Ownership therefore passed to Duncombe’s widow, the Hon Maria Pleydell-Bouverie. Upon her
death in 1935 her two daughters Mary Eleanor (‘Molly’) and Katherine ('Bina') continued in
residence, and remained so throughout WW2.
In 1946 the Estate was sold to Ernest Cook (of the Travel agent family) who in 1948 began to
refurbish Coleshill House with the intention of donating the Estate and farms to the National
The refurbishment work was almost complete when on 23rd September 1952 workmen caused a
disastrous fire that completely destroyed the grand old building. On the death of Ernest Cook in
1955 the Estate did pass to the National Trust who continue to administer it today.
The village remains the same small picturesque village that it has been for over 300